top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRyan Schleifer

Week 9: Upgrades & Unexpected Solutions

This week I received feedback on my blog outline. I spent most of my week strengthening my outline and researching to fill in remaining gaps. For instance, I replaced some sources from .edu websites with sources from .gov websites to best uphold the standards of the Library of Congress. One challenge I had was finding photographs of the Slave Trade Act of 1800 online. While this Act is not the focus of my blog it is part of what the Slave Trade Act of 1808 evolved from and serves as important context. Additionally, I was able to find original signed copies of all the other legislation covered in my blog. It turns out, at the time of this writing, the National Archives has not made photographs of Slave Trade Act of 1800 available online. I was able to find the 1800 act in Volume 2 of the U.S. Statutes at Large. It is listed in the table of contents as being on page 70 but when navigating this volume in PDF form it is page 106 and 107.

Today I attended a Library webinar on interview skills. I have a lot of experience interviewing as, in addition to the interviews I have participated in to get jobs, in High School I participated in the FBLA job interview contest multiple years in a row. I still attended the session as I was interested in gaining employers’ perspectives on what they are looking for in applicants.


If there are any UCF students reading this that are interested in gaining additional interview experience, I encourage you to look into UCF Career Services Mock Interviewing events. I haven’t personally attended these mock interviewing events however I’ve found other career services events, such as their resume workshops, to be very useful.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page